This is Better Than Chocolate!

 “Leading people to pursue life in Jesus as their greatest passion.”

At Stonecreek Church this is our mission. We’ve received our marching orders. How we accomplish this mission as individuals will differ somewhat according to our tools and talents. But every good soldier will give 100% to complete a mission!

I’ve seen more “passion” in the past two weeks within Stonecreek Church than I EVER have (in almost 9 years).

No doubt, it’s been a tough year. We’ve suffered many losses. Many others are still fighting extremely tough battles. The economy stinks. The future may seem uncertain. But God is good and faithful! This is turning out to be the best year EVER!

I was talking with a friend just the other day. We were discussing the fact that we couldn’t come up with a want for ourselves no matter how hard we tried. The group effort of being able to help so many others this Christmas has filled us with so much love (not a strong enough word to describe the emotion but as close as I can get) that we feel on the verge of bursting! It started me thinking that the last portion of Acts 20:35 may literally mean “when your heart is right (pure) there is more joy in giving than you will EVER experience in getting.” I believe there are more than a few Stonecreekers who will testify to that this year. As a matter of fact they have. Just click here to read their stories.

But it also brings up another valid point. If you refuse to receive from someone, you are robbing them of the blessing of giving. Oh, how I struggle with this. I’ve had the attitude that it’s “easier to give than to receive” for a very long time. It has taken me years of consciously allowing others the opportunity to bless me and break the habit of waving them off with a dismissive attitude. It’s hard to receive. It’s humbling. Sometimes it’s necessary and also the last thing we want to do. But if God has moved in the heart of someone to bless you, it’s your job to accept it with a grateful spirit and allow them the joy of giving. There’s nothing saying you can’t turn right around and pass blessings on to the next person. Take it to a viral level. Spread it all around.

There’s an amazing side effect of this type of giving. You will find the more you give, the more you have to give. I’m not claiming your bank account will increase instead of decrease. Or that you will receive unlimited resources to meet needs. It could happen that way. God’s accounts are limitless and He is not above sharing with you. But what I’m talking about is the fact you will notice a change in your heart. The more love you share the more love you will find inside yourself. You will find yourself searching for opportunities to give it away because you cannot hold it all. It’s a fullness that makes you feel like you’re about to burst. With me, it’s been spilling out of my eyes in tears of happiness and joy this week. I feel almost to the point of dehydration. But the first thought that ran through my mind as my friend and I celebrated the joy of giving was, “THIS IS WAY BETTER THAN CHOCOLATE!” And that, my friends, is saying a LOT!

What about you? Can you describe the joy of giving better than that?

2 responses to “This is Better Than Chocolate!

  1. You had me at the title. Thank you for being a part of making this a Christmas i will never forget. You are my soul sister.

Leave a Reply

