I (Heart) Lists

I must have packed my will power away with my white shoes after Labor Day! I just can’t seem to control my eating habits, my time management habits, or any other habits for that matter. And it’s beginning to show in the way my jeans fit (or don’t), in the way I respond to situations and people and in general how I approach life. It’s made me sluggish, irritable and not very effective. I’m thinking a change is in order.  

I fully believe in my favorite bible verse:

I can do ALL things through Christ who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13 (emphasis mine)

I can do all things through Christ, but I don’t. Why? Because deep down I’m one very selfish person. I still want to do what I want to do, when I want to do it and not necessarily what God wants me to do. It’s a fight and I’m not much of a fighter, especially when I have to talk myself into something. So begins my goal setting (which I’m terrible at, too!) for 2010.

This may seem elementary and simple, but a girl’s got to start somewhere…

  1. Intentionally seek God’s will personally before seeking His will corporately. It will be easier to fit into God’s plan for my community when I’m in His will individually.
  2. Give Him ALL of me (AGAIN & AGAIN, everyday). No hidden areas that I manage alone. Sounds easy, right? But this is THE hardest thing for me to do – give up control!
  3. Be intentional about my physical well being. Eat right, exercise (the second hardest thing for me to do because I don’t like it), remember to rest and occasionally have some FUN!

That should be enough to keep me busy for a couple of weeks. This short list doesn’t include things like my goals to read at least one book per month, blog at least twice a week, complete at least 6 bible studies or book studies this year. That’s my “at least” list. The one above is my “I’ve-tried-this-before-but-never-succeeded” List!

What about you? What are you planning to work on this next year?

4 responses to “I (Heart) Lists

  1. 1) I like making lists, too.
    2) They keep me from being distracted…oh, look, something shinny!
    3) Thanks for reminding me to make these steps my top three as I continue working on my 2010 list!

    • Ha Ha! Love #2…

      For me, lists = organization, which is the first step to being intentional instead of flying by the seat of my pants! Not the most comfortable or effective mode of transportation.

      Looking forward to a fantastic 2010!

  2. Yep, I’m looking forward to 2009 also. Lists, lists, lists… I heart ’em too, which reminds me it’s about time for another one on my blog. :>) Thanks.

    -Marshall Jones Jr.

    • I’ll be sure to check out your blog. Maybe I’ll pick up some items to add to my own list. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

