Wii Fit™ and the Word of God…

My daughter’s been after me to try her Wii Fit™ game for months. Since we just entered a new year and one of the things on my “To Do List” was to pay more attention to my physical wellbeing, I figured it might be good start to some type of exercise program – a VERY slow start, but a start nonetheless. I have to gently warm up to these kinds of things.

If I started off with a gym membership or thousands of dollars worth of equipment and wardrobe, then it’s a sure bet  failure is lurking around the corner for me. If I start fast, I burn out fast. If I start slow, I have a better shot of sticking with it. (Feel free to judge and come to your own conclusions about what it says about me. Then talk to God, ‘cause He’s the one who made me…)

Okay, back to the subject. We have the Wii Fit™ game set up and Rachel’s in charge of the “A” button – I don’t have a clue what to do. This thing has an assessment tool. It gives you ratings and calculates your BMI (body mass index). Let’s just say the lady in the game groans every time I step on the balance board. Now if that doesn’t build self-esteem, I don’t know what does. So we agreed, the Wii lady and I, that there is work to be done.

The first day after my assessment my Wii age was calculated as 46. Perfect! On the second day my Wii age was 26! I think I’m gonna like this game after all! Okay, I know, the credibility of the assessment tool just went way south…whatever.

Along the way the game shows you markers of your progress. I’m sure there are ways to “trick” (cheat) the game, but I’m not necessarily out to beat another player’s score (although I do the happy dance when my name shows up as #1. It’s quite a sight!).

My favorite feature so far is that while you are working on a balance activity or doing the yoga (which is harder than it sounds) there are indicators to show you how well you are balancing. Keep the little red dot in the yellow circle and you score more points. Now I could do the exercises without the balance board, but then I couldn’t be sure that my center is really aligned, could I? I would be guessing and going by how I “feel”.

This is where I see a comparison between the Bible and Wii Fit™.

I could go about my daily life and try to exercise my spiritual self alone, without any outside help but would that be healthy? How would I know if my center is aligned? How would I measure my progress? See what I mean? God has given us the only tool we need to measure our spiritual health but it only works if we use it. We have to read and apply the truths from God’s Word to ensure our success. In it we find all we need to point out the areas we need to work on as well as the tools of correction for these areas.

It’s also true most of us need accountability with physical fitness programs. Some people have personal trainers, coaches, mentors, or other accountability partners. My Wii game keeps track of the days I log in and I get to put a stamp on my calendar for each day I work out! Yipee! So far my daughter is serving as a reminder to keep at it daily. We’ll see how long that lasts. And now everyone (both of you) who reads this will know that I’ve started something I need to follow through with.

The same is true of our need for accountability with spiritual fitness programs. This is why community and fellowship with other Christ followers is so important. Support and accountability from others on the same journey is invaluable to spiritual fitness. Small groups, bible study groups, prayer partners and mentors are a few ways to maintain progress and guarantee support that we are sure to need eventually.

There will be walls we’ll hit. Plateaus that we’ll need to overcome. And days where we feel like we’re going backward instead of forward. Before we face these, let’s make sure we have a system in place. Who’s your coach? Your cheerleader? Who’s got your back?

*I also recommend a daily plan to bring you to The Word. If you need a tool, I suggest looking at YouVersion.com. They have at least 20 reading plans to choose from. This year I’m using the Historical Plan to read the entire Bible through in 365 days. So far it only includes reading 3 to 4 chapters per day. See, I told you I have to start slow!

Leave a Reply

