Fighting With “Why Bother”…

So the New Year started off with a bang. Strong out of the gate. Many plans, many ideas, and many opportunities for…what?

Success?

Failure?

Making a difference?

Sure. All of those were possibilities. What I did not anticipate was an appearance of the demon, Why Bother. Pesky little creature, but he caused the biggest headache!

My battle with Why Bother started off as busyness. Innocent enough, right? Everybody has busy times, especially when we’re playing catch-up after the holiday season. Well, I just couldn’t seem to get caught up. The harder I tried to accomplish anything, the worse it got. So I thought, “Why bother? It’s probably not worth it anyway.”

But then he upped the ante. Suddenly it felt as if everything I’d ever done was in the category of “Ineffective and Meaningless”. I began to question a large portion of my life. When you focus on failures of the past it’s impossible to see the promise of the present and the future. I was sliding downhill fast. I’m ashamed to admit I didn’t put up much of a fight. That is until the darkness descended.

It was sudden, like a fog rolling in. All it took was one little mistake to tip the scales in the demon’s favor. Within a couple of hours I was so deep in a funk that I was convinced I would never do anything that mattered again. I was done. Finished. Caput. Where’s the fork? Go ahead and stick me.

The words of Why Bother echoed deep in my soul.

“What good are you to anyone anyhow?”

 “Why do you keep getting up every time you fall?”

 “Why don’t you just stop trying and quit altogether?”

Thankfully God’s voice is stronger, more persistent and infinitely wiser than the ones in my head. His Word was louder and it dispelled the fear, defeat, and lies of my enemy.

“You are fearfully and wonderfully made…”

“Whoever believes in [Me] is not condemned…”

“[I] began a good work in you and [I] will carry it to completion…”

That last one, Philippians 1:6, was like the mallet in the Whack-a-Mole game. I took it and pounded old Why Bother square on the head. He tried to pop up again and again in different places, but I had my weapon and I wasn’t afraid to use it. Every time he said, “Why bother?” I’d smack him with that verse and say, “Because God’s not through with me yet! That’s why!”

The fog lifted almost as quickly as it appeared and I stepped into light a little stronger than I was before. Plus, I don’t let that mallet with Philippians 1:6 on it too far out of my reach. I never know when I’ll need a game of Whack-a-Mole with Why Bother!

What about you? Do you have a “go to” verse when Why Bother or his cousin, Doubt, show up at your doorstep?

3 responses to “Fighting With “Why Bother”…

  1. I can relate to your post. The last couple weeks I have had ideas come to me to write about and then I haven’t been following through. I told myself they weren’t good enough or that I was too busy or that I needed to do whatever.

    I have found two particular passages that inspire me though and I will try to keep my awareness upon them. The first, my favorite for many situations is the Psalm of David #23. The second is from Matthew 7:7.

    Then there is a prayer that an elderly lady taught me many years ago from a prayer book she received around WW2 in London in the 40’s. It is a daybreak prayer and goes: “O Father for another night of quiet sleep and rest. For all the joys of morning light thy holy name be blessed. Now with the newborn day I give myself anew to Thee. That as Thou willest I may live and what Thou willest be. What’er I do, things great or small Thy holy name be blessed. And lead me by thy grace today in paths of righteousness. Amen”

    Finally I have found at odd intervals appearing in my life the prayer of St Francis: “Lord, make me an instrument of Thy peace; Where there is hatred, let me sow love; where there is doubt, faith: Where there is despair, hope; Where there is darkness, light; and where there is sadness, joy. Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console; to be understood, as to understand; to be loved, as to love; for it is in giving that we receive, it is in pardoning that we are pardoned, and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. Amen”

    God bless you for your post. It is excellently written and aprapos.

  2. Pingback: Twelve Days of Christmas Update – January « i saw GOD today

Leave a Reply

