Sex, Lies, and Religion by Randy Elrod

I don’t know what I was thinking when I agreed to read and review Sex, Lies and Religion. For some reason I found myself clicking on that button. “Sure, I’ll read an advanced copy and post a couple reviews for you, Randy!” After all I felt like I was part of the process. I had taken the survey. I voted on the cover art. So why shouldn’t I review a preview copy of the book and post it on my blog? Well, because my co-workers and my Mom, my daughters and my HUSBAND read my blog! Now I’m sunk. One of my top strengths is responsibility. If I tell you I’m gonna do something, I’ll do it or die trying! So I’m writing this review…even if it kills me.

I will tell you that this book and I got off to a rocky start. However, I have found one of the best ways to learn something new is to listen to people that you don’t agree with one hundred percent. So I continued to read with an open mind.

I think one challenge in reading this book will be that it forces people into uncomfortable territory. How do you discuss such a personal topic while still respecting the privacy of individuals and couples? How do you determine what is dysfunctional, unhealthy or just personal preference? There seems to be at least one fine line exposed here and I think “religion” has erred on the side of ignorance (ignoring the subject altogether) versus balance (freedom within faith). I don’t feel that I was taught by “church” that sex is bad, I think the silence on the subject implied that it was. How do you deal with not knowing what you don’t know? Especially when no one talks about it?

That’s exactly what Randy Elrod has had the courage to do in writing Sex, Lies, and Religion. He has unwrapped and revealed some of the precious treasures of God’s intentions for humanity – treasures long hidden and thus forgotten. This book shines new light on words and concepts as well as their implications that you may never have considered.

I think one of the most practical pieces of advice Randy shares can be summed up in the following quote from the book:

“Perhaps it’s time to utilize the Bible as our sex manual. And for those aspects where it is silent, we should then depend on an open dialogue with those we trust.”

And as is true with most great advice, it sounds much easier than it actually is. But who doesn’t need a little challenge now and then? Read and learn.

I received this book free from cre:ate 2.0 Publishing to read and post a review on my site. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

Leave a Reply

