1 Man + 27 Years = A Really Good Thing!

Twenty-seven years ago today it was a very wet, cold, gray day. But I didn’t notice or mind too much. I was merely hours away from changing my last name forever.

A lot of water has passed under the bridge since then. There have been ups and downs, wonderful and trying times, celebrations and hissy fits. But there has never been a day when I honestly regretted making my vow with God and my husband.

In honor of twenty-seven years of marriage I want to share twenty-seven reasons I still love him. Some are fun, some are serious and some are just too personal to totally share. Here’s to you, Terrill…

  1. I love you because you had the guts to ask the question, “So, whadaya think? Should we get married?” (Soooo romantic!)
  2. I love you because you were never scared to change a diaper or get up in the middle of the night with the kids. (Even when I kinda tricked you with the “My foot’s asleep” routine.)
  3. I love you because you have always taken your responsibility to provide for your family seriously.
  4. I love you because you can (and do) fix my car.
  5. I love you because you taught me how to change a tire.
  6. I love you because you always know how to answer the question, “Honey, can you please help me move this heavy [fill in heavy word here]?”
  7. I love you because you love and support my family, even in the really tough times.
  8. I love you because through your eyes I still look like I did twenty-seven years ago.
  9. I love you because you always put the safety of others before your own.
  10. I love you because you love my cooking.
  11. I love you because you know how to clean up the kitchen really, really well.
  12. I love you because you are a true fan of Alabama football – you are consistent no matter if they win or lose.
  13. I love you because you’re not as tough as you look.
  14. I love you because you’re a great hugger and back rubber and foot rubber.
  15. I love you because you know how to operate the vacuum cleaner.
  16. I love you because you support me no matter how ridiculous my idea is.
  17. I love you because you actually let the girls live through their teenage years.
  18. I love you because you know how to shoot a gun but you don’t make me do it.
  19. I love you because you remember to take out the trash (most of the time).
  20. I love you because you have interesting taste in music and movies.
  21. I even love you because you have a slightly warped sense of humor.
  22. I love you because you don’t leave the bathroom in a mess.
  23. I love you because your tool box is organized like a surgeon’s table.
  24. I love you because you don’t like hockey.
  25. I love you because you are a man of integrity.
  26. I love you because you serve God by serving others.
  27. But mostly I love you because you love me, too!

Happy Anniversary, Hon! I love you!!!!!

4 responses to “1 Man + 27 Years = A Really Good Thing!

  1. Happy Anniversary my friend!
    I love your 27 reasons for love!! You and T are a great example to us all. You are proof that when God brings people together and they serve Him, marriage can be what is was meant to be!!

    Love you.

  2. That was awesome. Thanks for setting an example upon which God is surely smiling.

  3. Whoa!!! I’ve known him for 27+ years….and I can’t believe some of the things he can do!!!! AND I can’t believe he actually FELL for the “my foot’s asleep routine”!!! All in all…he’s a pretty stand-up fella in a big part because he’s got an amazing rock of a gal hangin’ right in there with him. And to think…..before I actually met him…at 11 years old….I fully expected him to have a head full of black, wavy hair….well, at least I got the big muscles part right…thus the heavy thing moving…. Ha!! Love you guys to death!!!!! Happy anniversary….albeit…a few(many) days late. Here’s to 75 more!!!

    • Thank You!!! Yes, we have all been through an awful lot, haven’t we? (Really, you expected thick, wavy black hair? WOW!)

Leave a Reply

